Noise Pop Festival’s 2017 Lineup, Expansion Announced for 25th Anniversary

The Bay Area’s premiere indie music and arts festival, Noise Pop, announced phase one of the music lineup for the 25th annual festival. Beginning this year, the festival will expand from nine to eleven days beginning Friday, February 17 and running through Monday, February 27.

Noise Pop Festival 2017 takes place in multiple venues throughout the Bay Area, transforming San Francisco and Oakland into a festival ground. The first round of music artists confirmed to perform Noise Pop Festival’s quarter-century celebration includes a return of California hip-hop artist Vince Staples (who played last year), multi-instrumentalist and singer-songwriter Ty Segall, Canadian electronic duo MSTRKRFT.

December 6 Update: Festival organizers announced Phase 2 of the 2017 lineup, highlighted by a special reunion from one of San Francisco’s most celebrated rock bands, Creeper Lagoon, marking their first show since 2001. Other noteworthy additions include electro-folk group Radical Face, indie pop act Electric Guest, indie rock band The Joy Formidable, SF-born singer and multi-instrumentalist Hanni El Khatib, Oakland-based Aussie Hazel English, and the Bay Area’s own Rogue Wave, who are set to perform a set of 1980’s covers to coincide with the release of their recent album “Cover Me.”

January 12 Update: 50+ additional acts hailing from across the Bay Area have been added to the music lineup for the 25th annual event. Key Bay Area acts set to perform include newly announced artists like Oakland-based, indie garage punk trio Shannon and the Clams as well as SF dream pop group The Bilinda Butchers and SF garage rock quartet Hot Flash Heat Wave. Also, just announced are performances by Claude Von Stroke’s alternate performance name Barclay Crenshaw, Oregon-based indie rockers Japanese Breakfast, Canadian electronic musician Teen Daze, and LA-based musician Kevin Abstract. See further below for the updated poster. The full music lineup will continue to be released in installments in the weeks preceding the festival. The list of artists currently announced is included below.

January 24 Update: The final lineup enhancement has been anounced, and organizers saved some of their best for last. New additions include a special DJ set by members of experimental folk group Animal Collective and performances by female vocalist Kelis, singer-songwriter Julien Baker, electronic acts Hudson Mohawke and Benji B, plus many more. The complete lineup poster can be found further below.

In addition to the full lineup, Noise Pop announced the return of their Bender’s Happy Hour pregame, which starts on Tuesday, February 21 and runs through Saturday, February 25. Each day has a curated music lineup handpicked by partners including San Franpsycho, Seawitch Productions, Tricycle Records, Different Fur, and Bender’s, which is celebrating a 10-year anniversary. Visit the event website for the full happy hour lineup.

Also set to play the festival are SF-based metal group Deafheaven, electronic and hip-hop producers BadBadNotGood (BBNG), Los Angeles-based folk-rock band Dawes, alt-rock pioneers Blonde Redhead, and many more. See below for the complete list of performers announced as part of phase one. The complete music lineup will be announced installments between now and February and will feature some of

Tickets for each of the newly announced individual shows will be available for purchase online this Friday at 10am. The complete music lineup will be announced installments between now and February and will feature some of today’s top indie and alternative artists, as well as up-and-coming acts from a variety of musical genres. Badges and tickets can be purchased at the festival’s website.

Early Bird and Super Fan badges are on sale now and individual tickets to these shows go on sale at 9am PST this Friday, November 18. Super Fan badge holders will experience red carpet treatment at the 25th annual Noise Pop Festival, where they receive guaranteed entry to all of their film, music and culture selections, a merchandise package, drink tickets to select events, rideshare coupons and a personal Noise Pop representative available for assistance during the Festival.

For the 2017 festival, a limited amount of Early Bird badges will be available today for $145. Once these badges are gone, regular badges will be available for $175. These badges grant access to all general admission (non-seated) concerts, badge-only happy hours, NPHQ and some very special events soon to be announced. Badges are non-transferrable with age-restrictions for some events, and badge-holders must arrive within 60 minutes after club door times to guarantee entrance.

Stay tuned for more announcements in the weeks ahead, including the Noise Pop Festival film series lineup.

Follow Noise Pop Festival on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter for updates and special promotions. The official hashtag for the festival is #NoisePop25.

Noise Pop Festival 2017 – Full Music Lineup (with newly added artists signified with an asterisk*):
Vince Staples
Ty Segall
Animal Collective (DJ set)*
Barclay Crenshaw
Hudson Mohawke*
Radical Face
Cloud Nothings
Creeper Lagoon
The Radio Dept.
Los Campesinos!
Rogue Wave (presents Cover Me: A Night of 80s Classics)
Electric Guest
The Joy Formidable
This Will Destroy You
Julien Baker*
Benji B*
Hanni El Khatib
Julia Holter
Tash Sultana
TEKLIFE with DJ Spinn and Taye*
Kevin Abstract
Francois K*
Shannon and the Clams
Seven Davis Jr.*
Moon Duo
The Rural Alberta Advantage
White Fence
Hodgy Beats*
Teen Daze
Matt Pond PA
Japanese Breakfast
The Mother Hips
The Garden
Night Beats
Kilo Kish
Hazel English
Diet Cig
Weyes Blood
The Frights
Black Marble
Adia Victoria
The Palms
Mozart’s Sister
Monster Rally*
The Bilinda Butchers
The Buttertones
Half Waif
Deap Valley
Emma Ruth Rundle
AJ Dávila
Middle Kids
London O’Connor*
Miya Folick
Daddy Issues
Hot Flash Heat Wave
Before The Brave
Elsa y Elmar
Never Young*
Fine Points*
Young Moon
Emily Jane White*
Travis Hayes
The New Up
Madeline Kenney
The Molochs
Rayana Jay*
Dante Elephante
Fake Your Own Death
Julia Lewis
The Y Axes
Peggy Honeywell
Chaos Chaos
The Regrettes
Owl Paws
The Great American Canyon Band
No Vacation
The Wild Kindness
Scary Little Friends
Magic Trick*
Two Sheds
20 Minute Loop
Everyone is Dirty*
Foxtails Brigade*
Cave Clove
Lisa Prank
Field Medic
Warbly Jets*
The Total Bettys
Future Shapes*
Nine Pound Shadow*
Maggie Y/O
Amanda Rose
Josh Cashman
Mall Walk
Blank Square
Jay Stone
Midnight Sister
AhSa-Ti Nu
The Young Wild
Madi Sipes & The Painted Blue*
Luke Sweeney
Split Single*
M. Lockwood Porter*
Axis: Sova
N. Lannon*
Valley Girls
Grief Thief*
Flying Circles
The Bye Bye Blackbirds
Boy Scouts
Hobo Johnson
93 Bulls*
Innovative Leisure DJs
DJ Aaron Axelsen*
DJ Dials*
Push The Feeling DJs*
DJ Marco De La Vega*


Written by Carlos Olin Montalvo

Follow me @carlosolin