San Francisco is home to Twitter’s headquarters and some of the social network’s most active and interesting users, which makes for a robust list of local Twitter users to follow.

The main office for the global short messaging platform is located near the Civic Center, and a decent chunk of its active, online users are located in SF as well. Twitter is the most effective tool for consuming real-time news, making it a great source for instant updates and the latest local news.

For those interested in keeping up with what’s happening in and around SF, check out the list below (in no particular order) of Twitter users to follow. Be sure to also follow @SFStation for all the latest updates.

1. Karl the Fog @KarlTheFog
Topics: The weather, photography, sarcasm, clouds, skyline

2. Burrito Justice @BurritoJustice
Topics: Burritos, maps, street food, the Mission, science, military

3. Broke-Ass Stuart @BrokeAssStuart
Topics: Government, drinking, politics, music, news

4. Stefan Aronsen @stefanaronsen
Topics: Music, photography, radio, DJing, breakfast

5. Patti Silverman @silvermansays
Topics: Music, photography, technology, outdoors, travelling

6. Ron Cervi @Sky1Ron
Topics: Photography, the weather, sunrise, skyline, vistas, traffic, helicopter

7. Sal Castaneda @sal_castaneda
Topics: News, television, rap music, sports, the weather

8. Aaron Axelsen @AaronAxelsen
Topics: Music, DJing, nightclubs, radio, sports

9. John Paczkowski @JohnPaczkowski
Topics: Technology, news, music, Silicon Valley, dogs

10. Ellen Huet @ellenhuet
Topics: Technology, news, Stanford, diversity, Silicon Valley

11. Yerba Buena Center for the Arts @YBCA
Topics: Park, outdoors, music, arts, entertainment

Topics: Arts, museum, history, photography, paintings

13. SF Bike Coalition @SFBike
Topics: Cycling, bicycles, outdoors, transportation, exercise

14. @BFFdotFM
Topics: Radio, music, DJing, the Mission, community

15. Bernalwood @Bernalwood
Topics: Bernal Heights, photography, real estate, neighborhoods

16. Noah Bennett AKA @djdials
Topics: DJing, music, clubs, bass, festivals

17. POPSCENE @popsceneSF
Topics: Music, concerts, clubs, dancing, indie

18. 1015 Folsom @1015SF
Topics: Music, clubs, electronic, dance, bass

19. Bi-Rite Market @BiRiteSF
Topics: Food, organic, shopping, recipes, vegan

20. Roberto Baldwin @strngwys
Topics: Technology, news, gadgets, Mexican food, music

21. Debra J. Saunders @debrajsaunders
Topics: News, politics, writing, government, legal

22. Brian Solis @briansolis
Topics: Marketing, public relations, writing, business, technology

23. Different Fur @DifferentFur
Topics: Music, studio, recording, the Mission, videos

24. Soundbox @SFSoundbox
Topics: Music, symphony, orchestra, nightlife, entertainment

25. Culture Collide @culturecollide
Topics: Music, travel, food, festival, technology

26. SF Symphony @SFSymphony
Topics: Concert, orchestra, entertainment, movies, jazz

27. Peter Hartlaub @peterhartlaub
Topics: Music, East Bay, sports, news, history

28. Damon Bruce @DamonBruce
Topics: Sports, radio, food, music, Indiana Hoosiers

29. Streetsblog @StreetsblogSF
Topics: Sustainability, traffic, driving, transportation, neighborhoods

30. Rickshaw Stop @rickshawstopsf
Topics: Music, clubs, dancing, DJing, indie

Did we miss your favorite local twitter account? Share it with us in the comments below!