The Polyphonic Spree

Event has passed (Thu Nov 19, 2015 - Thu Nov 19, 2015)
The Independent
doors at 7:30pm, show at 8pm


The Polyphonic Spree began July 15, 2000 as one man’s desire to hear a sound he dreamt about; before most bands over the last decade, that are often compared in sound and vision to the Spree, were formed. The Polyphonic Spree have traversed the globe several times over much to the dismay of those that thought the band would never leave its hometown of Dallas, TX. They have appeared at every major music festival and late night television program.

The Polyphonic Spree has ranged in size from 13 to 27 members. It has never been about the size but about the sound. The band currently has 22 active members.

The Polyphonic Spree have released five full length studio albums up to this point: The Beginning Stages of…, Together We’re Heavy The Fragile Army, Holidaydream. And Yes, It’s True.

Tim DeLaughter has also scored the motion pictures "Thumbsucker" and "Visioneers." He also wrote and performed the Emmy nominated theme song for the Showtime series "The United States of Tara."

Often imitated but never duplicated the psychphonic ensemble The Polyphonic Spree moves forward on its path.


The Polyphonic Spree will bring its first holiday album "Holidaydream: Sounds of the Holidays Volume One" to life this fall with a series of variety shows showcasing the group’s theatrical live performances. The tour is the product of a decade of Polyphonic Spree annual holiday variety shows in their home town of Dallas, which have featured break-dancers, tap-dancing grandmas, bell choirs, comedians, zoo demonstrations, and even a Dickens-inspired play with acting from the musicians themselves. This fall’s shows will be all-ages, featuring an early set dedicated to the "Holidaydream" material and a second, non-holiday, rock set. The all-ages, child-friendly shows will include the airing of traditional holiday films, an opening set by Gustafer Yellowgold, and a set of local performers unique to each city.

"Holidaydream," which will be released October 22 on Kirtland Records and Good Records Recordings, is the group’s first full-length since 2007 and includes ten standards, two original instrumental compositions, and a cover of John Lennon and Yoko Ono’s classic "Happy X-Mas (War is Over)." The album was produced by Knife and Fork’s Eric Drew Feldman (Captain Beefheart, PJ Harvey, Frank Black) and The Speekers (The Polyphonic Spree’s Tim DeLaughter and Julie Doyle), and features a guest appearance by School of Seven Bells.


"Dallas symphonic pop group the Polyphonic Spree is less a band than a happening, in the 1960s sense of the word. When the group takes to the stage for a live performance, its two dozen members are costumed in flowing robes of snowy white, an appropriate backdrop for their happy and uplifting musical message that's catchy pop minimally laced by gospel. Fans have compared them to both the Flaming Lips and the Beach Boys, with a smidgen of lively Godspell-like attitude thrown into the mix. The Polyphonic Spree was founded by Tim DeLaughter, who led Tripping Daisy until 1999, when a drug overdose killed his bandmate, guitar player Wes Berggren. Tripping Daisy folded, and DeLaughter and the other surviving members of the group pulled together as the Polyphonic Spree with the addition of about 20 more members. They put together a demo titled The Beginning Stages of...the Polyphonic Spree and distributed it to fans during a holiday performance. An indie label, Good Records, out of Dallas, later issued the release. The group boasts a ten-member choir, a pair of keyboardists, as well as a percussionist, bassist, guitarist, flutist, trumpeter, trombonist, violist, a French horn player, a theremin player, and an electronic effects wizard. DeLaughter holds the post of musical director and contributes lead vocals. Road tours require more than a dozen full-sized vans, but the band put on spectacular shows in intimate clubs and gigs as big as 2003's Reading Festival, and their single "Follow the Day" was featured in Volkswagen commercials and on the Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind soundtrack, earning the Polyphonic Spree even more exposure. Their proper first album, Together We're Heavy, was co-released by Good Records and Hollywood Records in summer 2004. The Wait EP, which arrived in 2007, found the band moving in a darker, slightly more atmospheric direction. That summer, the Spree returned with The Fragile Army, a reprise of the vibrant, Technicolor sound of their earlier work." - bio from Linda Seida, All Music Guide


  1. The Independent
    628 Divisadero Street, San Francisco, CA