SFCMP in Concert: Works by Abrahamsen, Leroux, and Mitchell

Event has passed (Sat Oct 21, 2017 - Sat Oct 21, 2017)
Taube Atrium Theater
04:00 PM
Claim this listing


In our On Stage series, which brings to the stage some of the most influential contemporary classical composers of the 20th and 21st centuries, SFCMP’s season-opener concert will juxtapose three looks at musical color, three sonic landscapes, and three provocative composers. Featuring the U.S. premiere of a new work by Philippe Leroux, as well as a world premiere by California composer Nicole Mitchell, whose work celebrates African-American culture while reaching across genres, and Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen, whose work Schnee is esteemed as one of the first classics of 21st-century music.
This concert will offer fluid interactions within a chamber ensemble and an electric (and eclectic) combination of instruments. This event will feature Nicole Mitchell in the “How Music Is Made” composer talk segment.
Philippe LEROUXPostlude à l’Épais (2016) 9’ (U.S. Premiere)Flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano
Nicole MITCHELLProcession Time (2004) 15’ (World Premiere)Alto flute, bass clarinet, cello, piano
Hans ABRAHAMSEN Schnee (2008)  57’Piccolo/alto flute, english horn, eb/bass clarinets, percussion, 2 pianos, violin, viola, cello

HOW MUSIC IS MADE  (free and open to the public)4:00 pm Open Dress Rehearsal of Procession Time by Nicole Mitchell4:30 pm – 5:20 pm Composer Talk with Nicole Mitchell facilitated by Steven Schick
CONCERT (open to ticket buyers)6:45 pm Pre-concert discussion with Artistic Director Steven Schick and Players7:30 pm Concert9:00 pm Post-concert party
 2017-18 Season Subscriptions and Memberships On Sale Now
SUBSCRIBE or BECOME A MEMBER today for the best ticket prices!  Visit SFCMP.org for information on subscriptions and memberships, starting at just $6.25 per month.


  1. Taube Atrium Theater 401 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA