Big news arrived from the Rock the Bells camp last night: For the festival’s 10-year anniversary, Eazy E and Ol’ Dirty Bastard will be resurrected in hologram form.


The move arrives just over a year after Hologram Tupac stunned fans with a surprise appearance at Coachella 2012 during Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg’s headlining set.

When the festival touches down at Shoreline on September 14-15, hologram Eazy E will join Bone Thugs-N-Harmony, the group he mentored and help bring to the national spotlight before he died of complications related to AIDS in 1995, according to Ol’ Dirty Bastard will join Wu Tang Clan for the New York crew’s set.

Rock the Bells founder Chang Weisberg released this statement:

“This is not only a dream come true for the fans, but for me as well. I would have never dreamt of the day, nor the technology, for this to come to fruition. Thanks to Dr. John Acunto and his team at Gig-It, they are going to help bring these two legendary rappers back to life. But, we will set the standard only approved by Cherry Jones and Tomica Wright. This virtual performance is especially important for the legendary New York crew. The first year of Rock the Bells in 2004 was the last major performance all Wu-Tang Clan members had together before Ol’ Dirty Bastards’ untimely passing. Now, 10 years later, they will be reunited on the same stage at Rock the Bells for their 20 year anniversary.”

Other performers include:

Big Krit

Black Hippy

Bodega Bamz

Brother Ali

Chase & Status



Danny Brown

Dilated Peoples

Dizzy Wright

Dom Kennedy

E-40 & Too Short

Earl Sweatshirt

Flatbush Zombies



Immortal Technique

Jhene Aiko

Juicy J

Kid Cudi





Snow The Product


Talib Kweli

Tech N9ne

Tyler the Creator

As we know from past years, the lineup is subject to change.