Modern Cinema: Season 8

When
Fri Feb 8 (full schedule below)
Where
Phyllis Wattis Theater at SFMOMA
Time
6pm, 8:30pm
Tags
Art, Film / Television
Claim this listing

Description

Modern Cinema: Season 8
Jia Zhangke: Rhythms from Life

Tickets are now available for the eighth season of Modern Cinema, returning February 8. This season, SFMOMA, in partnership with BAMPFA, presents the films of contemporary filmmaker Jia Zhangke, a leading figure of China’s “Sixth Generation” film directors. Eleven of Jia’s features and documentary profiles will screen alongside films that inspire him, films which he deeply admires, and those that share similar themes.

---------
Schedule
---------

Friday, February 8th
Xiao Wu (Pickpocket) at 6pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/xiao-wu-pickpocket/
Pickpocket at 8:30pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/pickpocket/

Saturday, February 9th
Three Sad Tigers at 1pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/three-sad-tigers/
Chan Is Missing at 3pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/chan-is-missing/
Ash Is Purest White at 5pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/ash-is-purest-white/
Election at 8:45pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/election-2/

Sunday, February 10th
Farewell My Concubine at 12:30pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/farewell-my-concubine/
Platform Sunday, February 10, 2019, 4:30pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/platform/

Thursday, February 14th
The Boys from Fengkuei at 6pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/the-boys-from-fengkuei/
Unknown Pleasures at 8:15pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/unknown-pleasures/

Friday, February 15th
Tokyo Story at 6pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/toyko-story/
24 CITY at 9pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/24-city/

Saturday, February 16th
A Touch of Zen at 1pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/a-touch-of-zen-2/
Summer Palace at 5pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/summer-palace/
A Touch of Sin at 8:15pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/a-touch-of-sin/

Sunday, February 17th
Dong at 1pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/dong/
Still Life at 3pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/still-life/
Rome, Open City at 5:30pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/rome-open-city/

Thursday, February 21st
Wendy and Lucy at 6pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/wendy-and-lucy/
Il Grido (The Cry) at 8pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/il-grido-the-cry/

Friday, February 22nd
Street Angel at 6pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/street-angel/
The World at 8:15pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/the-world/

Saturday, February 23rd
I Wish I Knew at 1pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/i-wish-i-knew/
Spring in a Small Town at 4pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/spring-in-a-small-town/
Flowers of Shanghai at 7pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/flowers-of-shanghai/

Sunday, February 24th
Yellow Earth at 1pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/yellow-earth/
A Man Escaped at 3pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/a-man-escaped/
Mountains May Depart at 5:30pm - https://www.sfmoma.org/event/mountains-may-depart/

Media

Schedule

Phyllis Wattis Theater at SFMOMA
151 Third Street
San Francisco, CA
Fri Feb 8 (6pm, 8:30pm)
Sat Feb 9 (1pm, 3pm, 5pm, 8:45pm)
Sun Feb 10 (12:30pm, 4:30pm)
Thu Feb 14 (6pm, 8:15pm)
Fri Feb 15 (6pm, 9pm)

Location

location
  1. Phyllis Wattis Theater at SFMOMA 151 Third Street, San Francisco, CA