Meg Elison / The Book of the Unnamed Midwife *New Edition*

Tue Nov 15
The Booksmith
7:30 PM
Author Appearance, Literary, LGBT
Claim this listing


Join us for the launch of the *newly released edition* of Meg Elison's 2014 Philip K. Dick Award-winning debut, the feminist, LGBT, post-apocalyptic science-fiction novel The Book of the Unnamed Midwife.

After a pandemic nearly annihilates earth’s population—killing women and children and making childbirth deadly for the mother and infant—the midwife must pick her way through the bones of the world she once knew to find her place in this dangerous new one.

A few women like her survived, though they are scarce. Even fewer are safe from the clans of men, who, driven by fear, seek to control those remaining. To preserve her freedom, she dons men’s clothing, goes by false names, and avoids as many people as possible. But as the world continues to grapple with its terrible circumstances, she’ll discover a role greater than chasing a pale imitation of independence—making it her mission to help surviving women avoid death at childbirth, distributing medicine and contraception.

At the heart of Elison’s novel is a woman’s right to bodily autonomy and reproductive freedom. In the tradition of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Elison takes a modern-day look at women’s equality and access to reproductive health creating a near future where those rights could be easily lost.


Meg Elison is a high school dropout and a graduate of UC Berkeley. Her debut novel, The Book of the Unnamed Midwife, won the 2014 Philip K. Dick Award; the sequel will be published in Spring 2017. She lives in the San Francisco Bay Area and writes like she's running out of time.

>>> More Info Here:

*** RSVP Here:


  1. The Booksmith
    1644 Haight St, San Francisco, CA