Dance Anywhere

A conceptual public art project and free to everyone

When
Fri Mar 30, 2012
Where
SFMOMA
Time
noon - 1pm
Tags
Theater, Dance

Description

dance anywhere is a global worldwide public art event taking place on Friday, March 30, 2012, where thousands of people worldwide will dance simultaneously at Noon Pacific Standard Time (PST), 3pm EST (New York, etc) 8pm in Paris, Rome, etc. dance anywhere has spread into a worldwide party and YOU are invited to participate. People have participated on six continents in twenty seven countries from Hawaii to San Francisco across the US, to Slovenia, Tanzania, Turkey, Estonia, Sweden, Spain, Ireland, Papau New Guinea, Namibia, to name a few. Anyone is encouraged to participate, and the project involves people of all ages, abilities, nationalities, and backgrounds. Artist and dance anywhere creator Beth Fein says, "This global event is an open invitation to all: to stop and dance wherever they will be. What is so wonderful about dance anywhere is that it is a way for everyone, anywhere to be creative - to pause in their busy lives and dance with the whole world." Fein has continued to develop this original concept to not only blur the line between art practice and art, but to dissolve the line that often separates art and dance from our daily lives. This is dance that does not need to be on a stage... our immediate environment is our stage and we should all stop to dance as a worldwide community.

DATE/TIME:
Friday, March 30
12:00pm-1:00pm

LOCATION:
SFMOMA
151 Third Street
San Francisco, CA, 94103
http://www.sfmoma.org/

COST/REGISTRATION:
Free.
http://danceanywhere.org

MORE INFO:
Website: http://www.danceanywhere.org
Email: info@danceanywhere.org
Phone: 510-969-9224
Contact: Beth Fein

About dance anywhere:
dance anywhere, an annual conceptual public art performance begins with an invitation from artist Beth Fein - for people to stop and dance, on March 30, 2012, wherever they are at 12 noon in San Francisco, 3 pm in NY, 8 pm in Paris simultaneously around the world. Participants are encouraged to document their experience through video and photography and post on the danceanywhere.org website.

Comments

Location

  1. SFMOMA
    151 3rd St, San Francisco, CA